4 Cupcakes in 4 Days – Part 1 – White Russian Cupcakes

My cupcake fever started when I found this adorable Papyrus brand Mother’s Day card with macarons on it. My mom and I went to France when I was 13, and again when I was 15, and while we were there, we fell in love with French macarons.

I decided that for Mother’s Day, I would try my hand at making my very own macarons for my mom.

Let me tell remind you now that this is a post about cupcakes, not macarons. They turned out absolutely awful. Delicious, but just awful as far as how they were supposed to turn out.

So when that failed, and with my mothers birthday coming up on Thursday, along with Mother’s Day Sunday, I decided perhaps cupcakes would be a better way to go.

Then the boys reminded me that our friend Jack’s birthday was Wednesday. And with Jeremy’s birthday slipping in on Friday, you can now see why I’ve been spending all bloody week in the kitchen!

I am separating this into 4 parts, because I don’t want all 4 cupcake recipes and reviews to be all mushed together (and also because its only Friday, so I haven’t made the Mother’s Day cupcakes yet.

Jacks birthday came first on Wednesday, and a 21st birthday usually means lots of booze and drunken debauchery. But his father was taking us all to a very (VERY) nice restaurant, and some of us had work very (VERY) early the next morning, so we decided to keep it rather tame.

However, when I saw the recipe for White Russian cupcakes, I couldn’t resist giving him a little bit of the normal experience (you know, where the whole night is just alcohol themed).

I found the recipe in IHeartCuppycake’s blog, and made only minor changes (like which brands of alcohol I used).

Here is the recipe, which yielded a whopping 30 cupcakes! Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture of these cupcakes before the party. Sorry!

White Russian Cupcakes:

Ingredients:

2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1-1/2 cup sugar

12 Tbsp butter, room temperature

2 large eggs + 2 egg whites, room temperature

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup heavy cream

1/4 cup Smirnoff Vanilla Vodka

1/4 cup Coffee Liqueur (I used Heritage, but Kahlua works well, too)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Line cupcake pan with cupcake liners.

2. In a medium bowl, sift flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, beat the sugar and butter until well combined, about 2-3 minutes. Add eggs and egg whites, one at a time, beating on low. Next, add vanilla, Vodka, and 1/4 cup coffee liqueur. Next, add flour mixture in 3 parts, alternating with heavy cream in 2 parts. Mix until combined well.

4. Fill each cupcake liner about 1/2 full. Bake about 17-20 minutes (mine were done in exactly 17 minutes), or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

5. Remove from pan and cool completely before frosting.

Kahlua Swiss Meringue Buttercream:

Ingredients:

5 large eggs whites

1 cup + 2 Tbsp sugar

2 cups unsalted butter, room temperature, cut into pieces

3-4 Tbsp Kahlua ( I used 4 and would use even more next time)

Directions:

1. Place sugar and egg whites in a heat-proof bowl. Set bowl over a pan of gently simmering water. Whisk until sugar is completely dissolved and egg whites are hot to the touch, ~ 3 minutes. Test by rubbing the mixture between your fingers. Texture should be completely smooth.

2. Transfer to a medium bowl, and whisk on high until mixture has cooled completely and has formed stiff glossy peaks (~ 8-10 minutes). Reduce speed to low. Add butter one chunk at a time, mixing completely between additions. Don’t worry if buttercream appears curdled after the addition of the butter. It will become smooth again with continued beating.

3. Add Kahlua and beat until just combined.

4. Switch to paddle blender and beat for about 5 minutes to eliminate any air pockets.

About elizabethanne

I'm 22, living in Southern California, and trying to figure out this crazy thing called life.
This entry was posted in Cooking, My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

